Skip to content

Depression screens needed for teens : Scientific American Blog

March 30, 2009

antidepressants and psychotherapy reduce depression symptoms in teens, and that most teens who are suffering aren’t diagnosed or treated

via Depression screens needed for teens : Scientific American Blog.

This really strikes home for me. I missed 3 months the spring of my sophomore year of  high school because I was “tired.”  That’s what the doctor said. Hello! Major clinical depression, anyone?  And that was my second episode!

One Comment
  1. March 30, 2009 11:41 pm

    You know, I saw something about that on the news tonight. As much as the medical community is aware of the side effects of hormonal changes, I’m surprised this hasn’t already been implemented.

    I was in the kitchen making dinner when that story was on TV, but I saw a lady saying that age 12 was a little too young to screen for depression. I didn’t get to hear the rest of the conversation, but I don’t know about that one. My son became a little moody and got a teenage mouth at age 11.

Comments are closed.

